CMA Logo.jpg


the second biennial CONFERENCE of the council for museum anthropology, a branch of the american ANTHROPOLOGICAL association

September 19-21, 2019 | santa fe, new mexico

The Council for Museum Anthropology’s second biennial conference will take place in Santa Fe, New Mexico from Thursday, September 19th through Saturday, September 21st, 2019. Using the unique position of Santa Fe -- the “City Different” -- as a starting point for thinking broadly about both local and global approaches to museum anthropology, the conference theme is “Museums Different.” We will use the theme and conversations from our first conference “Museum Anthropology Futures,” as a starting point to begin our thinking.

The conference is based on Santa Fe’s Museum Hill, home to both the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture/Laboratory of Anthropology and the Museum of International Folk Art. Conference participants will also have the opportunity to attend a reception at the nearby School for Advanced Research, as well as additional sessions and open artist studios at the Institute for American Indian Arts. The conference will include a broad based representation of New Mexico’s diversities, cultures, and living traditions. Fall weather, September in particular, is one of New Mexico’s most beautiful times of year, with crystalline blue skies, forever vistas, and the smells of roasting green chilies and piñon smoke abundant.

Participating Institutions

Museum of Indian Arts and Culture/Laboratory of Anthropology | Coe Center for the Arts | Museum of International Folk Art | Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian | Institute of American Indian Arts | School for Advanced Research | Maxwell Museum of Anthropology, University of New Mexico | Department of Anthropology, University of New Mexico | Program in Museum Studies, Univeristy of New Mexico

CMA conference committee

Robert Leopold (Chair / Smithsonian Institution), Erica Lehrer (Concordia University), Sowparnika Balaswaminathan (UC San Diego)

local ARRANGEMENTS conference committee

Bruce Bernstein (Chair / Coe Center for the Arts & Pueblo of Pojoaque Tribal Historic Preservation Officer), Lillia McEnaney (Assistant to the Chair / MIAC), Maxine McBrinn (MIAC), Tony Chavarria (MIAC), Elysia Poon (SAR), Felicia Garcia (SAR), Samantha Tracy (SAR), Loa Traxler (UNM), Devorah Romanek (UNM), Lea McChesney (UNM), Felicia Katz-Harris (MOIFA), Amy Groleau (MOIFA), Ryan Flahive (IAIA), Jessie Ryker-Crawford (IAIA), Jonathan Batkin (Wheelwright)

About CMA

A section of the American Anthropological Association, the Council for Museum Anthropology is an all-volunteer membership organization that serves anthropologists and museum professionals. CMA’s mission is to foster the development of anthropology in the context of museums and related institutions. See the CMA’s website and blog for more information.